ICC T20 World Cup Winners List (2007 to 2021)

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List (All Season) – T20 Men’s World Cup for the year 2022 is about to start soon. As per the latest details, the matches are about to start from 16th October 2022. While the cricket fans are anxiously waiting to see the winner of the T20 men’s world cup 2022, it is also a great idea to have a recap of all the winners till now.

T20 World Cup Winners List (2007-2021)

International Cricket Council organizes the T20 World Cup at different locations of the world. While the very first series was played in South Africa, T20 for the year 2021 was played in Oman and UAE. Last year, it was Australia who won the T20 Cup by defeating New Zealand in the finals.

Also Read:

Here is a Complete List of Winners from 2007 to 2021:

Year Winner Runner Up Venue
2021 Australia New Zealand Oman & UAE
2016 West Indies England India
2014 Sri Lanka India Bangladesh
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Srilanka
2010 England Australia West Indies
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka England
2007 India Pakistan South Africa

Usually, ICC organizes T20 World Cup for Men in every alternate year. But due to several issues such as the break of COVID or even due to changes in plan, there have been inconsistencies in the years.

Till now, West Indies has turned to lift the World Cup two times, once in 2012 and then in 2016. So, based on the statistics, the West Indies team has come up as a strong contender even for the year 2022. But the other teams are also in good form. The team New Zealand became a runner-up for the first time last year. So, if they have been preparing on their strengths, this time they also have a fair chance to be a winner.

It will be still too early to estimate the actual winner of the T20 Men’s World Cup 2022. All you can do is to wait for the matches to begin and then stay tuned to support your favourite team and ultimately check out the winners this year.

FAQs – T20 World Cup Winners

Who won the first T20 world cup?

It was India who won the very first T20 World Cup in the year 2007.

How many times did India win the T20 world cup?

India won the T20 World Cup just once in the year 2007, defeating Pakistan.

Which country never won the T20 world cup?

Till now, New Zealand has not won the T20 World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.