IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2023 – Orange Cup, Purple Cap Winners

IPL Winners List (2008 to 2023) – Whenever the IPL season starts, it surely leads to an adrenaline rush in its fans. Not just in India, but cricket fans across the world get divided in order to support their favourite teams. The fans cheer up their respective teams with the expectation that their favourite team will win the season so that they can again cherish of the moment of the IPL Title Winners.

IPL Winner 2023

As the Indian Premier League is being played since 2008, different teams have lifted the trophy. When talked about last season, it was Chennai Super Kings that won the match playing against Gujarat Titans. CSK won by 5 Wickets over GT (DLS).

Also Read:

Let us remind you of the final match of IPL 2023 by offering you glimpses of the statistics of both teams. Gujarat Titans achieved 214 runs by losing just 4 wickets however Chennai Super Kings made 171 runs at the cost of 5 wickets (DLS Method). Surely, all the CSK fans have relived the winning moment once again.

Will you not love to see the list of IPL winners from 2008 to 2023?

IPL Winners List

The Board of Control for Cricket in India or better known as BCCI started the concept of the Indian Premier League in the year 2007, inviting players from different parts of the world. Since then IPL has become an addiction for many cricket lovers. It will be quite interesting to check out IPL Winners till now and other details.

The two teams Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings came against each other in the finals of IPL Season 1 and Rajasthan Royals became the first winner of IPL that year.

Here is a list of IPL winners year-wise.

IPL Season Year Final Date Winner Team Runner-Up Team Final Location
2023 29-May-23 Gujarat Titans Chennai Super Kings Ahmedabad
2022 29-May-22 Gujarat Titans Rajasthan Royals Ahmedabad
2021 15-Oct-21 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders Dubai
2020 10-Nov-20 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals Dubai
2019 21-May-19 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Hyderabad
2018 27-May-18 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai
2017 21-May-17 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiants Hyderabad
2016 29-May-16 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore Bengalore
2015 24-May-15 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata
2014 01-Jun-14 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Bengalore
2013 26-May-13 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata
2012 27-May-12 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Chennai
2011 28-May-11 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai
2010 25-Apr-10 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Mumbai
2009 24-May-09 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Johannesburg
2008 01-Jun-08 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Mumbai

IPL Orange Cap Winners List

Cricket lovers not just wait for the winning team to lift the IPL trophy each season but also anxiously wait for the name of the IPL Orange Cap Winner. This recognition is awarded to the player who has scored the highest runs in that particular season.

Here is a complete list of IPL Orange Cap winners till now.

IPL Season Year Highest Run Scored IPL Orange Cup Winner Team Nationality
2023 890 Shubman Gill Gujarat Titans India
2022 863 Jos Buttler Rajasthan Royals United Kingdom
2021 635 Ruturaj Gaikwad Chennai Super Kings India
2020 670 KL Rahul Kings XI Punjab India
2019 692 David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad Australia
2018 735 Kane Williamson Sunrisers Hyderabad New Zealand
2017 641 David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad Australia
2016 973 Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore India
2015 562 David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad Australia
2014 660 Robin Utthapa Kolkata Knight Riders India
2013 733 Michael Hussey Chennai Super Kings Australia
2012 733 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore Jamaica
2011 608 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore Jamaica
2010 618 Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians India
2009 572 Matthew Hayden Chennai Super Kings Australia
2008 616 Shaun Marsh Kings XI Punjab Australia

IPL Purple Cap Winners List

Similar to IPL Orange Cap, IPL Purple Cap is offered to the player who has taken the maximum number of wickets in a particular season.

Here is a complete list of players who got recognized by the IPL Purple Cap.

IPL Season Year Wickets Taken IPL Purple Cap Winner Team Nationality
2023 28 Mohammed Shami Gujarat Titans India
2022 17 Yuzvendra Chahal Rajasthan Royals India
2021 32 Harshal Patel Royal Challengers Bangalore India
2020 30 Kagiso Rabada Delhi Capitals South Africa
2019 26 Imran Tahir Chennai Super Kings South Africa
2018 24 Andrew Tye Kings XI Punjab Australia
2017 26 Bhuvaneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad India
2016 23 Bhuvaneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad India
2015 26 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings Trinidad and Tobago
2014 23 Mohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings India
2013 32 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings Trinidad and Tobago
2012 25 Morne Morkel Delhi Dare Devils South Africa
2011 28 Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians Sri Lanka
2010 21 Pragyan Ojha Delhi Capitals India
2009 23 RP Singh Deccan Chargers India
2008 22 Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals Pakistan

Having a glimpse of the winners and the title winners since 2008 must-have surely evoked a number of memories of the past many IPL series. IPL Season 17 auction will be soon announced and fans are eagerly waiting for the matches to start. This time, BCCI has introduced two more new teams and it will be an exciting moment to notice who is going to lift the IPL winner trophy, and the players who will be awarded the titles of IPL Purple Cap and IPL Purple Cap.

One thought on “IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2023 – Orange Cup, Purple Cap Winners”

  1. Please update the team of RP Singh from the Purple Cap holders list. He played for Deccan Chargers, not for Delhi Capitals in 2009.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *